The Haines Borough Planning Commission and parks and recreation advisory committee recommended new appointments for expired and empty seats to Mayor Jan Hill.

Three seats were open on the planning commission. The planning commission voted to recommend newcomers Sylvia Heinz and Kristen Hatthorn. Donnie Turner’s seat expired and the commission recommended his reappointment.

Diana Lapham and Michael Mackowiak also applied for the empty seats.

Hatthorn, an educator who worked in several school districts in Alaska, said in her application letter that she’d like “to help the planning commission make wise decisions based on borough code and the comprehensive plan.

Heinz said she’d like to offer her perspective in resource extraction discussions and “help make ongoing lawful decisions that balance impacts on surrounding areas with individual property rights.”

The parks and rec committee recommended its three sitting members, Burl Sheldon, Lori Smith and Patricia Peters, for reappointment.

Per borough code, Hill will review the applications, consider the board’s recommendations and appoint new members subject to assembly confirmation.